By: Rachel Gebaide
Effective September 30, 2021, the minimum wage in Florida will increase to $10.00 per hour from its current rate of $8.65 per hour. The increase stems from a state constitutional amendment, approved by Florida voters last November, to raise the state minimum wage to $15.00 by 2026 for employees working in Florida.
Florida’s minimum wage will increase by $1.00 each year on September 30th until the minimum wage reaches $15.00.
Employers may continue to take a $3.02 tip credit towards the minimum wage payable to their tipped employees working in Florida.
The following schedule sets forth the timeline of minimum wage increases to assist employers with Florida employees with planning and budgeting:
|Effective Date||Full Minimum Wage||Tipped Minimum Wage|
|September 30, 2021||$10.00||$6.98|
|September 30, 2022||$11.00||$7.98|
|September 30, 2023||$12.00||$8.98|
|September 30, 2024||$13.00||$9.98|
|September 30, 2025||$14.00||$10.98|
|September 30, 2026||$15.00||$11.98|
On September 30, 2027, and each September 30th thereafter, the state will calculate the new minimum wage that will take effect January 1st of the following year based on the consumer price index.
Lowndes will continue to provide updates on any further develops or legislation relating to Florida’s minimum wage.
Please contact a member of our Labor & Employment Law Group for more information about Florida’s minimum wage or any other employment law matters. Please also visit the firm’s employment law blog at www.theemployerlawyers.com for more information regarding employment law issues affecting companies.