Lowndes attorneys Rachel D. Gebaide and Morey Raiskin discuss what employers need to know about Florida's minimum wage increase.
By: Rachel D. Gebaide and Morey Raiskin
Florida’s minimum wage will increase effective January 1, 2021 as follows:
- Florida’s minimum wage will increase by nine cents from $8.56 to $8.65 per hour.
- Florida’s minimum wage for tipped employees will increase by nine cents from $5.54 to $5.63 per hour.
The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity is required to publish the new state minimum wage on its website by October 15 of each year (http://www.floridajobs.org), to be effective the following January 1.
The annual calculation is based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (“CPI”) for the South region. However, Florida’s minimum wage will never decrease, even if the CPI goes down in a given year. [...]
This is an excerpt from a blog post originally written on Employer Lawyers. To read the entire post, click here.
This article is informational only. You should consult an attorney before acting or failing to act. The law may change rapidly and no warranty is given. LOWNDES DISCLAIMS ALL IMPLIED WARRANTIES AND WITHOUT LIMITATION, ANY WARRANTY OF FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. ALL ARTICLES ARE PROVIDED AS IS AND WITH ALL FAULTS. Consult a Lowndes attorney if you wish to establish an attorney/client relationship.